The four stages of Non-Alcoholic Fatty Liver Disease (NAFLD)

Non-alcoholic Fatty Liver Disease (NAFLD) describes a range of conditions caused by too much fat stored in the liver in people who drink little or no alcohol. Healthy liver cells should contain little or no fat. More than 5% fat stored in liver cells is considered too much, and this can result in a fatty liver. 1 in 3 people in the UK is estimated to be affected by NAFLD. There are four stages of Non-Alcoholic Fatty Liver Disease (NAFLD). Simple fatty liver or steatosis Non-alcoholic steatohepatitis (NASH) Fibrosis Cirrhosis The first stage is referred to as simple fatty liver or steatosis; This occurs when the liver cells start to build-up fat, although there is no inflammation or scarring

© 2017 by Liver Health UK Ltd. |

  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • LinkedIn - White Circle

Website Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy |